1st Edition: Hilariously Profound

I spend many, many hours worth of procrastination googling simply “quotes,” just sifting through the little nuggets of wisdom and hilarity that often emerge. Sometimes I find quotes because of a book I’m reading, sometimes I read a book because of the quote. I keep a notebook (several volumes by now, as you can imagine) of every quote that’s ever made me pause to reflect or re-read, haunted me long after the pages were pressed back together, or simply made me chortle to myself. Yes, I even read the pages of review quotes in the opening pages of a novel. The message that you should take away from this is I have something of a quote fetish (definitely not that I have too much time on my hands, right?).

…and why not? They are the parts of a whole that comprises a worthy work of literature. There’s nothing better than finding a tangle of emotion, relatable thought, or profound revealation all encapsulated in a lovely bundle of language. So here’s my first quote dump disguised under the pseudonym of “Notable Quotables,” because rhyme is also something I am fond of!

“I love Twinkies, and the reason I am saying this is we are all supposed to of think of reasons to live.”   ~Stephen Chobosky, The Perks of Being a Wallflower

“We’re all a little weird, and life’s a little weird. and when we find someone whose weirdness is compatible with ours, we join up with them and fall in mutual weirdness and call it LOVE.” ~Dr. Seuss

“He is the long-delayed, but always expected something that we live for.” ~Tennessee Williams, The Glass Menagerie

“Men occassionally stumble over the truth, but most of them pick themselves up and hurry off as if nothing had happened.” ~Winston Churchill

“Whenever you did something because ‘Life was too short not to,’ you could be sure life would be just long enough to punish you for it.” ~Anne Brashares, The Third Summer of the Sisterhood

“I have always been regretting that I was not as wise as the day I was born.” ~Henry David Thoreau, Walden

“We spend our lives guessing at what’s going on inside everybody else, and when we happen to get lucky and guess right, we think we “understand.” Such nonsense. Even a monkey at a computer will type a word now and then.” ~Orson Scott Card

“The corporal and Captain Korn agreed that it was neither possible nor necessary to educate people who never questioned anything.” ~Joseph Heller, Catch-22

“‘I want more independence.’ said Lucy, lamely; she knew that she wanted something, and independence is a useful cry. We can always say that we have not got it.” ~E.M Forester, A Room with a View

“I never could stomach these nationalists. The destiny of Man is to unite, not divide. If you keep on dividing you end up as a collection of monkeys throwing nuts at each other out of separate trees!” ~T.H White, The Once and Future King

“If neurotic is wanting two mutually exclusive things at one and the same time, then I’m neurotic as hell. I’ll be flying back and forth between one mutually exclusive thing and another for the rest of my days.” ~Sylvia Plath, The Bell Jar

“The fact remains that getting people right is not what living it about anyway. It’s getting them wrong and wrong and wrong again, and then on careful reconsideration, getting them wrong again.” ~Philip Roth, American Pastoral

3 responses to “1st Edition: Hilariously Profound

Leave a Reply

